广播:中国并购前景以及乳制品收购

音频文件

萎缩的婴幼儿配方奶粉市场以及逐渐下滑的出生率

本集中,我们将讨论中国乳制品的并购前景以及挑战,重点关注婴幼儿配方奶粉市场的萎缩——部分原因归咎于中国出生率下滑。Mergermarket中国编辑Ling Yang、Dealreporter亚太区副编辑Stephanie Hanna、以及主持人Julie-Anna Needham将与我们分享他们对中国乳制品并购前景的见解。Dealcast并购交易广播由SS&C Intralinks 和Mergermarket和联合制作播出。

本次广播内容:

  • 中国婴幼儿配方奶粉市场现状——正面临一些挑战。
  • 中国新出台的三孩政策将会对国产品牌带来何种影响。
  • 私募机构在这个领域中的行动。

广播文本

[音乐播放] JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 欢迎收听SS&C Intralinks与Mergermarket并购交易广播Dealcast。我是JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM。我们将在本集中讨论中国乳制品的并购前景以及挑战--部分原因归咎于中国出生率下滑。

和我一起的还有Mergermarket中国编辑Ling Yang和Dealreporter亚太区副编辑Stephanie Hanna。Ling你好。Stephanie你好。

STEPHANIE HANNA: Julie-Anna你好。

LING YANG: Julie-Anna你好。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 谢谢你们抽空参与今天的广播。首先,我们来看看目前面临挑战中国婴幼儿配方奶粉市场。请为我们介绍一下这个市场的概况,并且列举一下中国市场特有的问题。

LING YANG: 好的。总体来说,我们都知道,由于中国出生率下降,中国婴幼儿配方奶粉市场正在萎缩。根据Frost & Sullivan的数据,,中国婴幼儿配方奶粉市场零售销量从2019年开始下降,并且预计未来五年将以负4.1%的年复合增长率持续下降。

低出生率和国内品牌市场竞争加剧,再加上由于新冠疫情影响,香港和中国大陆之间跨境贸易活动持续受限。这些都是大部分外国品牌在中国销量下滑的原因。

正如我们所知,在2008年中国奶制品污染事件发生后,外国配方奶粉品牌在中国蓬勃发展了几年。但是,中国政府为了提高奶粉行业的整体质量做了很多工作,包括在2019年实施的《婴儿配方奶粉产品配方管理方法》。这项举措大幅度地减少了市场上流通的品牌数量,有助于重塑奶粉行业。

同时,国内奶粉厂家对高端品牌以及特殊配方的投资也能够帮助国内品牌克服安全问题。因此,根据欧睿信息咨询(Euromonitor)的数据,近年来国产品牌的市场份额已经从2013年的30%增加到目前的60%左右。

基本上这就是外国品牌在中国运营的动态和他们现在面临的挑战。尽管如此,中国的市场还是非常大的,几乎占了全球市场的50%。我们的确能看到很多竞争仍在进行中。品牌与品牌之间也在不同的产品细分赛道上竞争。

STEPHANIE HANNA: 我补充一点,根据最新的全国人口普查数据,你应该知道中国之前一直执行只生一个孩子的计划生育政策,直到2016年左右,才放宽到可以生两个孩子。但是在最新的全国人口普查数据出来后,中国政府将计划生育调整为可生三个孩子。

因此,从理论上来说,这次政策调整对婴幼儿配方奶粉厂商来说是有利的。但是,还有一个广泛存在的观点是,仅靠政策调整并不能扭转目前的人口趋势。由于各种原因,在中国,人们并不愿意多生孩子。其中主要原因是抚养孩子的费用相当高,尤其在一、二线城市。

如果在生育政策调整之后,还有其他补充政策调整,例如降低教育成本以及其他与养育孩子相关的费用,这样才能成为婴幼儿配方奶粉厂商增长的长期驱动力。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 非常清晰的介绍,谢谢两位。接下来,Ling,请你为我们介绍一下关于利洁时(Reckitt Benckiser)出售其在中国的婴幼儿配方奶粉以及儿童营养品子公司这一交易的细节。

LING YANG: 没问题。利洁时是一家跨国消费品公司。2月份的时候,他们在2020年财务业绩公告中披露了对其中国婴幼儿营养部门的战略审查。然后在本月初,利洁时宣布了中国私募机构春华资本(Primavera)以22亿美元收购该业务。

有趣的是,这笔交易是在政府宣布放宽三孩政策短短四天后宣布的。你可以看到许多与婴儿产品相关的股票股价大涨。

Mergermarket一直在密切关注这一交易。有许多大型私募机构参与了竞购。包括凯雷(Carlyle)、贝恩(Baine)和陈氏的国有私募机构中信资本(CITIC Capital)。中国乳企伊利、新希望和君乐宝也参与了竞购。据我们所知,春华资本私募团队在4月才迟迟加入竞投。但他们只花了大约两个月的时间就签下了这笔交易。

该私募机构的所有者是--他们在该行业的业务范围非常广泛。他们有一些值得注意的投资组合,包括百胜中国以及中国乳制品君乐宝,我们之前报道过,君乐宝也竞购过利洁时大中华区婴幼儿配方奶粉业务美赞臣(Mead Johnson)品牌。

显然,这是春华资本的重要布局。因为他们一定对在中国发展这一品牌有非常强烈的信心,并采取更加本地化的战略来挖掘未覆盖到的低线城市。我认为,本月早些时候刚刚放宽的三孩政策将提高低线城市的出生率,特别是三到四线城市。

而这正是所有外国品牌难以渗透的市场。所以我们认为,春华资本的投资可能会帮助这个品牌更深入、更本土化,并真正触达本土市场。

春华资本投资了阿里巴巴、蚂蚁金服和字节跳动,因此可以进一步探索从线上到线下的战略,而且春华资本的现有投资组合君乐宝和美赞臣之间也有整合机会。

现有市场更多在低线城市的君乐宝试图走向高档化,而所有像美赞臣这样的中坚品牌则希望渗透到各个省级城市,以获得更多的市场份额。所以我认为他们这次收购相当有意义,因为前任母公司并没有能力令这个品牌真正深入到当地市场。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 你说春华资本很迟才加入竞购。那他们是否知道,或者是大多数人已经预计到,中国即将要调整其生育政策?

LING YANG: 即便能够预计到政策会调整,但我认为他们不会知道实际公布政策调整的确切时间。我认为对奶粉业务进行大笔投资的决定来自于春华资本的高层管理人员。他们从很久以前就对这个行业有很大的兴趣了,他们对这个行业已经研究了很长时间。

我不认为他们是因为知道会公布政策调整,所以才进行投资。我认为这更像是对这个行业进行长期,至少几年的研究后,作出的考虑周全的决策。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 好的。谢谢Ling。Stephanie,接下来请为我们介绍一下A2奶粉,先从这个公司以及它目前面临的挑战开始。目前它看上去有一点失宠,对吗?

STEPHANIE HANNA: 是的。作为参考 - A2牛奶是一家在新西兰成立的公司,在新西兰和澳大利亚上市。公司生产各种乳制品,包括婴儿配方奶粉。他们使用来自奶牛的A2蛋白质来作为自己的特征。该公司声称,A2蛋白质比A1蛋白质更容易消化。

在大约一年前国际旅行限制开始之前,他们业务发展得非常好。但是过去的9到12个月里,他们已经宣布了四次利润下调。旅行限制影响了他们的代购销量——代购是指中国境外的人代表中国境内的客户购买产品。

这意味着他们的跨境销售渠道已经受到打击。该公司大约一半的收入来自中国以及其他亚洲地区。该公司现在处于库存供应过剩的状况。他们正在试图重新平衡库存。这将令该公司减记约1亿新西兰元股值。

A2公司也已经知道中国的出生率下滑。这显然引起股东对其长期战略的质疑。除此之外,亚太部门行政总裁曾表示打算离任,而且该公司可能成为股东集体诉讼的目标。

有媒体报道称,一家律师事务所正在调查股东们的主张,声称A2董事会没有完全诚实地告知公司所处困境。据我所知,目前还没有提起诉讼。但是我估计这同时也是董事会的想法。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 听起来他们在各个方面都面临着挑战。你认为他们如何能摆脱这种局面呢?你是否预计他们会进行资产处置,甚至可能是整个公司被收购?

STEPHANIE HANNA: 我认为他们当前的计划应该是把库存处理妥当,然后调整销售以及分销渠道。该公司的股价在过去一年左右已经下跌了约70%,这确实会让我们怀疑他们是否已经到了很容易就能被收购的地步,我的意思是,尽管他们的确处于困境当中,但是分析师认为该公司的品牌价值还相当不错,其资产负债表的状况也还过得去。

利洁时的交易吸引了大批竞购者。从Mergermarket的报道看来,竞争相当激烈。因此,假设他们仍然相信中国婴幼儿配方奶粉行业有潜力,上次竞购未成功的投资者有可能将注意力转向A2牛奶。

 

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 我想这对A2公司来说是个好消息,因为他们有份额的中国市场正在出台三孩政策。

STEPHANIE HANNA: 是的,在这个消息的支持下,他们的股价肯定会上涨,短期内能提高公司估值。但是,这个政策变化是否能够增加人口,这还有待观察。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 是的,我想这需要几年时间才能有明显变化。在中国广泛婴幼儿配方奶粉市场中,你期待看到哪些企业?市场中还有哪些主要参与者?

STEPHANIE HANNA: 我认为就外国企业而言,他们正在逐步离开中国市场。正如Ling之前提到的,鉴于现在人们对国产品牌的偏爱,外国企业要在这里占一席之地确实很困难。你应该已经看到达能最近出售了其在一家中国乳品公司的股份。新西兰的恒天然也退出了中国市场。

雀巢公司仍然守着这个市场。他们去年曾表示,中国的婴幼儿配方奶粉市场对他们至关重要。他们在进行收购方面也处于相当稳固的地位。虽然他们在世界各地有很多领域的业务。但是他们已经把中国的奶粉行业标记为一个值得关注的领域。因此,如果他们在未来12到18个月内采取某种行动,我也不会感到惊讶。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 好的。Ling,最后请为我们讲一下这个市场的国内参与者。你预计会看到他们进行什么企业行动?

LING YANG: 好的,我先补充一点,雀巢公司在其年度审查中指出,其婴幼儿配方奶粉在中国的销量也有所下降,披露了他们2020年婴幼儿配方奶粉销量下降了41%。他们在东南亚国家的销量有很好的增长。但是在大中国市场的销量明显下降。

可以看出,对于曾经在中国市场占主导地位的外国品牌来说,挑战确实存在。我们看到一些国产品牌的崛起,包括伊利、蒙牛、合生元、飞鹤和澳优。特别是飞鹤和澳优,这两个品牌有可能在放宽三胎政策中获益最大,因为它们在低线城市所占市场份额很大。

我们预计南方品牌的销量可能会增长,我们可以看到这个反映,并且他们的股价实际也会上涨。因此,我认为这是一个值得关注的市场。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 好的,非常感谢两位今天的分享。

以上是Mergermarket中国编辑Ling Yang与Dealreporter亚太区副编辑Stephanie Hanna的分享,本集内容也到此结束。感谢您收听SS&C Intralinks 和Mergermarket的Dealcast交易广播本周与您分享的播客。请点赞,留言或订阅我们。

您可以在Apple Podcasts,Spotify上找到我们,关注Intralinks微信公众号或留意Intralinks官网消息。

2021-06-25

Podcast: China M&A Outlook and Dairy Product Acquisitions

A shrinking infant formula market and slowing birth rate

In this episode, we look at the M&A outlook and challenges for dairy products in China — specifically the shrinking infant formula market — in part due to a slowing birth rate in the country. Joining Dealcast host Julie-Anna Needham is Ling Yang, Mergermarket’s china editor, and Stephanie Hanna, who is DealReporter’s deputy editor for Asia Pacific discussing their insights on the M&A outlook in China. Dealcast is presented by Mergermarket and SS&C Intralinks.

In this episode, you'll learn hear about:

  • The current market for infant milk in China — it’s facing a few challenges.
  • How China's new child three-child policy will affect domestic brand
  • Private equity's involvement in the sector

Transcript

[MUSIC PLAYING] JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Welcome to Dealcast, the weekly M&A podcast, presented to you by Mergermarket and SS&C Intralinks. I'm Julia-Anna Needham. In this episode, we're looking at the M&A outlook and challenges for dairy products in China — in part prompted by a slowing birthrate in the country.

Joining me are Mergermarket's China editor Ling Yang, and Stephanie Hanna, who is Dealreporter's deputy editor for Asia Pacific. Hi, Lin. Hi, Stephanie.

STEPHANIE HANNA: Hi, Julie-Anna.

LING YANG: Hi, Julie-Anna.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Thanks for joining me today. So, let's start by looking at the current market for infant milk in China — it’s facing a few challenges. Can you give us an overview of that market, and outline some of those issues that are specific to the Chinese market?

LING YANG: Sure, Julianna. So overall, the Chinese infant formula market is shrinking due to China's decline in birth rate as we all know. And the retail sales volume in China's infant milk from the market began to decline in 2019. And it's expected to decrease at CAGR of negative 4.1 percent for the next five years. So that's data from Frost & Sullivan.

And so, the low birth rates and increased domestic competition as well as the ongoing restrictions on cross-border trade activity between Hong Kong and mainland China amid COVID. So these are all the reasons for the sales decline of many foreign brands in China.

And as we know, the foreign formula brands thrived for several years after tainted milk scandal in 2008. However, government — the Chinese government — has done a lot to improve the overall quality of the industry, including how they implemented the restriction requirements in 2019. And that dramatically reduced the number of brands on the market. And that helped to reshape the industry.

And also, at the same time, investment by domestic players in premium brands and special formulations are helping lots of domestic brands to overcome safety concerns. So the local brands’ market share has increased to about 60 percent in recent years, from only just 30 percent in 2013. So that's according to Euromonitor.

And so basically, that's how the dynamics of the foreign brands are operating in China and the challenges that they're facing right now. But having said that, China’s market is very big, which accounted for about 50 percent of the global market. And we do see a lot of competition still ongoing. And also brands are competing with each other in the different segment of the products.

STEPHANIE HANNA: I guess, I would just add to that, that as a result of the latest census figures, China changed it's — you may know that China had a one-child policy until about 2016, when it was relaxed to a two-child limit. But as a result of the latest census figures, this was changed again to a three-child limit.

So, in theory, that would be a positive for the infant formula producers here. But the widely held view here is also that a policy change alone isn't going to reverse that population trend. For many reasons, people are reluctant to have multiple children in China. The main reason being that it's quite expensive to raise kids, especially in the cities.

So, if that policy change is followed by other policy changes such as reducing the cost of education and other sort of expenses associated with raising children, then that could be like a long-term sort of driver of the growth of the infant formula manufacturers.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Great, thank you both. So, Ling, looking at Reckitt Benckiser sale of its infant formula and child nutrition subsidiary in China, can you run through the details of that deal, please?

LING YANG: Sure. So Reckitt Benckiser is a British consumer goods company. And it disclosed the strategic review of the Chinese infant child nutrition unit in its 2020 financial result announcement in February. And earlier this month — so RB announced that Chinese private equity firm Primavera acquired the business for USD 2.2 billion U.S. dollars.

And interestingly, the deal was announced just four days after the government announced the relaxation of three-child policy. And then you sent many baby-product-related stocks to share price to surge.

And Mergermarket has been following this sale closely. And there were many big PE names — in the mix. Including Carlyle, Baine and CITIC Capital — that's Chan's state-owned private equity firm. And strategics — domestic names like Ealey and New Hope and Junlebao. And what we heard is that the private equity from Primaveracame in quite late in the process in April. But it just took them about two months to sign the deal.

And the PE owner was — they have quite extensive presence in the sector. And some notable portfolios, including Yum brands and China-based dairy products Junlebao, which we reported that is also in the race for this infant formula business meet Johnson brand in greater China.

And apparently this is the big bite for Primavera as they certainly have a very strong confidence in growing this brand in China with a more localized strategy to tap the unreached low-tier cities. As I think for the new child policy that we just relaxed earlier this month. This will boost birth rates for the lower-tier cities, especially for the third-tier to fourth-tier cities.

And that's where all those foreign brands are having difficulty to penetrate that market. So we think that with the investment of Primavera, they will probably help this brand to go deeper. To be more localized and to tap, really reach that kind of localized the market.

And we know that Primavera invested in Alibaba, Ant Group and ByteDance so the online to offline strategy could be further explored and there also there is integration opportunity between Junlebao — the existing portfolio of Primavera — and Mead Johnson as well.

So because Junlebao is more present in lower-tier cities and trying to go upscale, yet all the firm brands like Mead Johnson, they are really looking to penetrate the provincial cities to gain more market share. So I think that's quite an interesting investment they made, because for the former owner, they really aren't capable of taking that brand really deeper to the local market.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: And you said that Primavera came in quite late in the process. Did they know, or was it widely expected, that China's policy on the number of children you could have was going to change?

LING YANG: Well, even though the policies were expected, still I think they wouldn't know the exact timing of that announcement. And the deal was — and I think the decision to have big investment in the formula business really comes from the top executive from this firm from Primavera. And they really had a lot of interest in this sector, long before, and they kind of examined the sector for a long time.

I wouldn't say that is because of the — they knew it's going to come out this kind of announcement. So they made investment — but I think it's more of a thorough decision for the industry for a long time. At least for a couple of years, I think.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Great. Thanks, Ling. And Stephanie, looking at A2 Milk, can we start off by looking at the company and the current challenges it is facing? Because it had a bit of a fall from grace, hasn't it?

STEPHANIE HANNA: Yeah, that's right. So just as background — A2 Milk is a company that was established in New Zealand, but listed in New Zealand and Australia. And it produces various dairy products, including infant formula. And I guess it differentiates itself by using this A2 protein from cows. And the company claims that, that particular protein is easier to digest than the A1 protein.

So they've had a really stellar run up until about a year ago when travel restrictions kicked in. In the last 9 to 12 months, they've announced four earnings downgrades. So the travel restrictions have impacted their digo sales, which means that their cross-border sales channel — and digo just refers to people outside of China buying products on behalf of customers who are inside China.

That particular sales channel has been disrupted. And for the company, about half of its earnings come from China and the broader Asian region. So the company is in a position now where it has an excess supply of stock. And it's trying to rebalance its inventory. So that will involve a write down of about 100 million New Zealand dollars’ worth of stock.

And the company has also acknowledged that the birth rate is slowing in China. So, this obviously raises questions about its longer-term strategy. And then on top of that, the CEO of the Asia-Pacific division said he intends to step down, and the company may be the target of a class-action suit from shareholders.

So, there was a media report saying that a law firm is investigating claims by shareholders that the A2 board may have not been completely honest about the extent of its struggles. So as far as I know, no lawsuit has been filed yet. But I imagine that's also on the board's mind.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Well, so lots of challenges on different fronts. How can you see getting out of the situation, do you expect to see asset disposals or even potentially a takeover of the whole company?

STEPHANIE HANNA: Well, I think the immediate plan is to get that level of inventory right, and perhaps change its approach to sales and distribution. But you know its shares have come off about 70 percent in the last year or so, and that does make us wonder whether it is vulnerable to a takeover, because I mean despite its struggles, analysts say that the company still has a decent brand and its balance sheet is in okay shape.

So, the Reckitt Benckiser sale attracted numerous bidders. From the Mergermarket reports, it seemed to be quite competitive. So, it's possible that the unsuccessful suitors from that auction may turn their attention to A2 Milk, assuming that they still believe in the fundamentals of the infant formula industry in China.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: And I guess it was good news to A2, given their exposure to the Chinese market that the three-child policy is being introduced.

STEPHANIE HANNA: Yeah, its shares have — its shares have definitely risen on the back of that news. So it is like a boost for the company's valuation in the short term. But whether that policy change will be followed by an increase in the population, that remains to be seen.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Yeah, I'm guessing it's going to take quite a few years before that becomes obvious. And looking at the wider infant formula market in China, what are the corporate you expecting to see there, and who are the other key players?

STEPHANIE HANNA: Look, I would say in terms of foreign players, they are slowly leaving the Chinese market. As Ling alluded to earlier, it's just it's a real struggle for foreign players to establish a position here in light of the preference for local brands now. So, you've seen Danone sell its stake in a Chinese dairy company recently. A New Zealand player, Fonterra also got out of the China market.

Nestlé is still very much here. And they signaled last year that the Chinese infant formula place — sorry the Chinese infant formula market — is very key to them. And they're in a pretty solid position to make acquisitions. I know they have a lot of segments that they operate in around the world. But they have flagged the Chinese formula sector as one to watch. So, I wouldn't be surprised if they were to make some kind of move in the next 12 to 18 months.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Great. And Ling, who are the domestic players? And what kind of corporate activity do you expect to see from them?

LING YANG: Yeah, so to add Stephanie on that, Nestlé reviewed that its annual review that sales of the infant formula declined in China as well. And also disclosed the infant formula sales in 2020 decreased 41 percent as well. But they see a lot more growth in Southeast Asian countries. But the obvious decline from China market — greater China market.

So really, the challenges are real for foreign brands that used to be very predominant in China market. And we see some of the rise of the local brand names, including Yili(伊利), Mengniu Dairy(蒙牛), Biostime (合生元) , Feihe(飞鹤), and Ausnutria(澳优)  . Especially, , Feihe and also Ausnutria],  are the two brands that are likely to benefit the most from the relaxation of three child policy because of their strong presence in the lower tier cities.

And we expect the South could grow — and we could see that reflecting and their share price increase actually. So I think there's interesting market to watch.

Absolutely, thank you both very much.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: That was major market China Editor Ling Yang, and Stephanie Hanna, who is DealReporter's deputy editor for Asia Pacific. Thank you for listening to this week's episode of Dealcast, presented by Mergermarket and SS&C Intralinks. Please rate, review and follow the podcast.

You can find us on Apple podcast, Spotify, or look out for your Mergermarket news alert. For more information, check out our show notes. Join us next week for another episode.

25 June 2021