广播:对于在开曼群岛注册的中国企业从美国交易所私有化退市的异议

在美国上市的中国企业及其异议 

常驻香港的Dealreporter副编辑Anette Jonsson与Dealcast主持人Julie-Anna Needham一起讨论了对于在开曼群岛注册的中国企业从美国交易所私有化退市的异议。 Dealcast并购交易广播由SS&C Intralinks 和Mergermarket和联合制作播出。'

本次广播内容:

  • 中国企业选择在开曼群岛注册成立的原因。
  • 与在开曼群岛注册成立公司相反的趋势。
  • 法律争斗对开曼注册美国上市的中国企业造成的影响。

 

广播文本

[音乐播放] JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 欢迎收听SS&C Intralinks与Mergermarket并购交易广播Dealcast。我是JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM。我们将在本集中讨论对于在开曼群岛注册的中国企业从美国交易所私有化退市的异议。和我一起的还有Dealreporter的副编辑Anette Jonsson,常驻香港。Anette你好。

ANETTE JONSSON: 你好。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 你能不能从宏观角度解读一下,为什么这些中国企业会选择在开曼群岛注册成立?

ANETTE JONSSON: 好的,以前中国企业如果想要吸引国外投资者,就必须在中国以外的地方注册,因为中国不允许他们在国内有任何外国股东。所以很多人选择在开曼群岛注册公司,有的在香港上市,有的在美国上市。

我们从2000年初开始就可以看到这个趋势了,很多企业选择了这种方式。不过,自全球金融危机以来,我们注意到了一点相反的趋势,部分原因是中国放宽了针对在国内上市的要求。也欢迎企业回归国内市场。与此同时,许多这些企业对他们在美国的估值有各种的不满。

所以,我认为从2015年开始就有一大波退市的热潮。而且从那时开始,我们就一直在相当密切地关注这方面的消息。基本上买方都是上市有十年的企业,企业的创始人,往往也还是企业的控股股东,董事长,或者是行政总裁。他们与其他长期股东联手,通过私募机构,或者是他们单干,提出收购。

由于这些企业是在开曼群岛注册的,而开曼群岛对企业管制的规则相当宽松,或者说企业管制规则在很多方面更注重于企业而不是股东,因此,这些创始人有机会利用他们的控股权、控股投票权来推动股东大会同意通过这些交易,而不会遭到小股东的阻碍。

他们只需要2/3的票数来推动股东大会通过这些交易,而买方本身也被允许投票,即使他们正是要收购这个企业的人。所以,这意味着他们有时会——或者说会被认为他们会利用这一点去提出较低的价格。

为了更好描述我们谈论的是什么样的金额,截至去年8月,Dealreporter追踪了26家完成退市的企业。它们的综合隐含股权价值约为216亿美元。从那时起--截至去年8月,其中10家企业随即在中国国内、中国国内交易所或香港重新上市,它们的总股本价值为1640亿美元。

大家要留意的是,它们是以不到220亿美元的价格被收购的。到了8月份,它们的价值达到了1640亿美元。而这仅仅是2015年以来成功完成退市的26家企业。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 那么,Annette,你能不能给我们简单介绍一下,那些小股东在开曼法院如何利用这个异议?

ANETTE JONSSON: 小股东在股东大会上基本上没有投票权,或者说他们有投票权,但控股股东可以推动交易的进行。他们可以选择寻求开曼法院的公平市场价值评估。而我们可以看到,到目前为止,已经通过的26笔私有化退市交易中,大部分都是这样操作。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 可以给我们讲讲最近门户网站公司新浪的情况。到底是怎么回事?

ANETTE JONSSON: 新浪这个案例很有意思,因为这笔交易是在股东大会上投票通过的。但是买方设置了10%的最高异议条款,也就是说,如果有超过10%的股本提出异议,买方有权退出交易。

他们之所以会设置异议条款,是因为如果不这么做的话异议可能会很多,他们可能会有一半的股本在开曼群岛寻求公平市场价值的裁决,这样收购的成本可能会膨胀。所以他们要把条款设置到一个能给他们权利的水平。

对于新浪,他们有个10%的异议条款。但实际上,有35.9%的股本表示会提出异议。现在买方正试图与其中一些异议者进行谈判,试图让他们退让,从而换取比之前提出的收购价略高的溢价。

这个谈判还在进行中,我们不知道它是否会通过。但是我们预计最终会通过的,因为我们在过去只见过另外两个类似的案例超出了异议条款。而在这两个案例中,买方都成功地将异议降低到了一个合理的水平。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 分类信息服务网站公司58同城的私有化退市是另一种情况,也面临着小股东的异议。这到底是怎么回事,为什么这个案例那么重要?

ANETTE JONSSON: 是的,58同城这个案例很有意思,也很重要,因为它的异议量很大。58同城本身的隐含股权价值是84亿美元。但该企业面临近20亿美元的异议。

之所以会出现这个情况,是因为58同城没有设置最高异议条款。因此,没有任何迹象显示,无论有多少股东提出异议,都不会有买方退出交易这个威胁。他们没有权利这么做。而且很多投资者也扎堆提出了异议。除了对冲基金早在2015年和2016年就已经开始了这种趋势,我们在58同城案例中看到大量的散户,包括养老基金也参与了进来。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 是的,我正想问这个问题。都是什么资金在推动异议呢?主要是对冲基金在推动,然后有一些散户在过程比较简单的时候会参与?

ANETTE JONSSON: 是的,这个趋势开始于盛趣游戏案例,一个对冲基金以1.46%股本的非常小的金额提出了异议,并且真正上了法庭。但是判决下来之后,在2017年5月,他们来法院提出,盛趣游戏在2015年退市时,公平市场价值应该比小股东收到的实际金额高出135%。

这次判决后,大家都开了眼界,意识到这可能是利益所在。这导致了其他一堆对冲基金,一开始主要是亚洲的对冲基金,也参与进来。后来又扩散到美国和一些欧洲的对冲基金。而在过去的几年里,我们看到越来越多的散户也加入到这个行列中来。

你要知道,并不是所有的散户都可以参与其中,因为有法规可能会说,他们不能持有非上市或非流通股。当然,这整个异议过程是在企业退市后进行的。因此,很多人被迫把自己的股票卖给这些对冲基金,而这些对冲基金可以针对这个情况,把该企业告上法庭。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 那么这些法律上的争斗会对那些在开曼注册美国上市的中国企业产生怎样的影响?我们在前面提到过,你说很多这种企业都不打算在美国上市了。但我估计这个情况会让他们更加望而却步。

ANETTE JONSSON: 其实并不是说他们不在美国上市了。事实上,在我们看到这种私有化趋势继续发展的同时,我们仍然看到一些中国企业在美国上市。所以,这可以被理解为一个双重趋势。

我想我们都希望,或者说对冲基金和关注这一进程的散户们,我们都希望开曼法院的裁决能够成为制止买方开出虚假低价的威慑力。他们可以一开始就提供一个较高的价格。但实际上,如果你看看投资者自己说的话和异议,我们就知道看到这个希望并没有实现。我们将会继续看到买方利用他们的高投票权来推动这些交易。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 我们再来多看一下另一个案例,在线游戏开发商和运营商畅游面临法律方面的挑战。你能不能分享一下畅游的情况,以及小股东在法律战中的进展?

ANETTE JONSSON: 是的,畅游的案子也是很有趣,因为它不像大多数其他退市的企业一样,以长式合并的形式完成。它是以简易合并的形式完成的。并且这种形式已经越来越普及,因为很多买方也发现了这里有一点漏洞可钻。

虽然根据《公司法》第238条,你对长式合并有异议权,大多数交易都是以长式合并完成的。如果买方已经控制了90%以上的投票权,他们可以选择改做短式合并。而一些律师一直认为,开曼法律没有赋予这些短式合并异议权。原因很简单,就是他们不需要股东投票,没有股东大会。因为作为异议的起点的股东大会在这个情况下是不存在的,所以异议自然也无法存在。

随着越来越多企业试图套用这个模式去进行短式合并,律师们开始跟投资人讨论以这种方式解读开曼公司法的潜在威胁。而在去年6月,一群股东在开曼群岛提出了一份申诉,基本上认为他们仍然应该有权利对这些短式合并,包括畅游的案例,提出异议,因为他们不应该因为公司控股股东拥有90%以上的投票权,或者控制90%以上的投票权,就失去获得公平市场价值的权利。

关于这个申诉的裁决,11月在开曼群岛进行了为期两天的听证会。裁决是在1月底出来的。基本上,法官几乎完全站在了申诉人一边,并裁定,他们应该有权利对畅游以及其他所有短式合并提出异议。

这一点是非常重要的。。我们预计,接下来将会由该企业上诉。而且我们预计,这将是一个漫长的过程。但从本质上理解,如果这一裁决得到维持,那么一开始允许一些拥有大量投票权的买方绕过异议的漏洞,已经被堵死了。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Anette,真的很有意思。非常感谢您的分享。本集内容也到此结束。

ANETTE JONSSON: 谢谢你们的邀请。

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: 以上就是Anette与我Julie-Anna的分享,本集内容也到此结束。感谢您收听SS&C Intralinks和Mergermarket的Dealcast交易广播本周与您分享的播客。请点赞,留言或订阅我们。您可以在Apple Podcasts,Spotify上找到我们,关注Intralinks微信公众号或留意Intralinks官网消息。

2021-03-22

Podcast: Dissent Involving Cayman Incorporated Chinese Companies Taken Private From U.S. Exchanges

Chinese ADRs and Dissent 

Anette Johnson, associated editor for Dealreporter based in Hong Kong, joins Julie-Anna Needham to discuss dissent involving Cayman incorporated Chinese companies that are being taken private from U.S. exchanges. Dealcast is presented by Mergermarket and SS&C Intralinks.'

In this podcast, you’ll hear about:

  • Why Chinese companies are incorporated in the Cayman Islands.
  • How the trend to incorporate in the Cayman Islands has reversed.
  • How will the legal battles impact Chinese companies who list ADRs in the U.S. via a Cayman incorporated company.

 

Transcript

[MUSIC PLAYING] JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Welcome to Dealcast, the weekly M&A podcast presented to you by Mergermarket and SS&C Intralinks. I'm Julie-Anna Needham. In this episode, we're looking at dissent involving Cayman incorporated Chinese companies that are being taken private from U.S. exchanges. Joining me is Anette Jonsson, Associate Editor for Dealreporter, based in Hong Kong. Hi, Anette.

ANETTE JONSSON: Hello.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: So starting off quite broadly, can you explain why these Chinese companies are incorporated in the Cayman Islands in the first place?

ANETTE JONSSON: Yes, historically, Chinese companies that wanted to tap foreign investors had to be incorporated outside of China, because China didn't allow them to have any foreign shareholders if they were based back home. So many of those chose to incorporate in the Cayman Islands, and some of them listed in Hong Kong, others listed in the U.S.

There was a lot of those that we saw a trend since the early 2000s of companies going that way. Since the global financial crisis though, we've seen a bit of an opposite trend, partly because China has relaxed its requirements for companies that can be listed at home. They've also invited companies to return to the domestic market. At the same time, many of these companies have been unhappy with the valuations they've been getting in the U.S. for various reasons.

So since, I would say, 2015, we had a massive explosion in these take-privates. And we've been tracking them quite closely since then. What happened basically was that the buyer groups, often the founding fathers of the company, often still the chairman, or the CEO, or both, often also still the controlling shareholder of the company, even though it had been listed for sometimes 10 years. They teamed up with other long-term shareholders, sometimes private equity firms, sometimes they went it alone, made offers to buy out these companies.

And because these companies are listed in the Cayman Islands, which have fairly relaxed rules towards corporate governance, or the corporate governance rules are focused more on companies than on shareholders to many extents, it was possible for these founders to use their controlling stakes, their controlling votes to push these deals through the EGMs without much opposition from minority shareholders.

They could do this because they need 2/3 of the votes to push the deals through the EGM, and the buyer groups themselves are allowed to vote, even though they are the ones buying out the company. So that meant that they would sometimes -- they were perceived to take advantage of this by offering what was often referred to as lowball prices.

To give an indication of what kind of money we're talking about, as of August last year, Dealreporter had tracked 26 completed take privates. And they had a combined implied equity value of about $21.6 billion. Now, since then, 10 of those companies -- this is as of August last year, 10 of those companies had subsequently relisted either in domestic China, in the domestic Chinese market or in Hong Kong, and where they were trading at a combined equity value of $164 billion.

Now, remember, they were taken private at just under $22 billion. They were worth $164 billion by August. And these are just the 26 companies that have been successfully completed their take private since 2015.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: So, Annette, can you just give us a brief idea of how this dissent works with the minority shareholders used in the Cayman courts?

ANETTE JONSSON: Yes, so what happens is that the only way minority shareholders, who are essentially given no right to vote at the EGM, they have a right to vote but the controlling shareholder can push the deal through. They can choose to seek a fair value appraisal by the Cayman court. And we have seen the majority of the 26 deals that have gone through so far have, in fact, gone down that route.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: And can you just talk us through one of the more recent situations with Sina. What's happening with that?

ANETTE JONSSON: So Sina is interesting because the deal was voted through at the EGM. But the buyer group had set a maximum dissent condition of 10%, which means that if more than 10% of the share capital dissented, the buyer group would have the right to walk away from the deal.

Now, the reason why they would set a dissent condition is that otherwise, the dissent could be massive, they could have half the share capital seeking a fair value ruling in the Caymans, and the cost of the take-private might balloon. So they're setting this as a level that would give them the rights.

With Sina, there was a 10% dissent condition. But in actual fact, 35.9% of the share capital did actually indicate that they would dissent. Right now the buyer group is trying to negotiate with some of these dissenters and try to make them back off, so that in return for a slight premium above the offer price.

This is still an ongoing case. We don't know whether it's going to go through. But we expect that it will because we've only seen two other similar cases in the past where the dissent condition was exceeded. And on both occasions, the buyer groups managed to get the dissent down to a level where they were comfortable to proceed.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: The take-private of 58.com is another situation that's facing dissent from minorities. What is happening with that, and why is that one significant?

ANETTE JONSSON: Well, 58.com is interesting and significant because of the sheer volume of the dissent. The implied equity value of the take-private itself was $8.4 billion. But the company faced almost $2 billion of dissent.

Now, this was possible because 58.com did not have a maximum dissent clause. Therefore, there was nothing to suggest that irrespective of how many shareholders dissented, there was no threat that the buyer group would walk away from the deal. They would have no right to do so. And lots of investors piled into dissent. In addition to the hedge funds that had started this trend back in 2015 and 2016, we were seeing on 58.com a massive number of long-term and long-only shareholders, including pension funds, getting involved.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Yeah, I was going to ask that. What kind of funds are driving the dissent. So it is mainly hedge funds that are driving it with some of the long-only investors getting involved when it's an easy process?

ANETTE JONSSON: Yeah, it started off with one hedge fund dissenting a very small amount of money at 1.46% of the share capital on the first such situation to actually go to court, Shanda Games. But after that ruling, which came in May 2017, and they came in court determined that the fair value of Shanda Games, at the time of the 2015 take-private, should have been 135% higher than the actual price the minorities were paid.

After that ruling, everyone got their eyes opened and realized that this might be of interest. This led to a bunch of other hedge funds, primarily Asia-based to begin with, and getting involved. And later it spilled over into U.S. and some European hedge funds. And in the past couple of years, we've seen more and more long-only and long-term investors jumping on this bandwagon as well.

Mind you, not all long-only investors can take part in this, because there are statues may say that they can't hold unlisted or illiquid shares. And of course, this whole dissent process takes place after the company has been delisted. And therefore, many of those are forced to sell their shares to these hedge funds who can then take the situation into the courts.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: And how will the legal battles impact Chinese companies who list ADRs in the U.S. via a Cayman incorporated company? We touched on it a bit earlier, and you said that a lot of them are not looking to list there anymore. But I'm guessing this will deter them even further.

ANETTE JONSSON: Well, it's actually not true that they're not listing there anymore. We're actually, at the same time as we're seeing this take-private trend go on, we are still seeing a number of Chinese companies listing in the US. So there is a dual trend, if you wish.

I think we were all hoping, or the hedge funds and the long-onlies that were watching this process, we're all hoping that the Cayman court rulings were going to serve as a deterrent for buyer groups to offer low ball prices. They would start off offering a higher price to begin with. But essentially, if you look at what the investors themselves say and the dissent, we continue to see that has not quite happened. We are continuing to see buyer groups take advantage of their high voting rights to push through these deals.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Looking at a bit more detail on another recent development, the legal challenge against the Changyou.com transaction. Can you explain what the situation is there, and how minority shareholders are getting on in their legal battle?

ANETTE JONSSON: Yeah, Changyou is interesting because it is done not as most of the other take privates as a long-form merger. It is done as a short-form merger. And that has developed and become more common as the buyer groups found a bit of a loophole, if you wish.

While you had dissent rights under section 238 of the Companies Law for long-form mergers, which is how most deals are done. If the buyer group already controls more than 90% of the votes, they have the option of doing a short-form merger instead. And some lawyers have been arguing that the Cayman law did not give dissent rights on these shortfall mergers. The reason was, very briefly, that they don't require a shareholder vote. There is no EGM. And as a result of that, the EGM, which is used as a starting point for dissent, since that didn't exist then, so dissent couldn't exist.

Now, as more and more companies tried to fit into this mold to do these short four mergers, lawyers were starting to talk to investors about potentially challenging that way of looking at the Cayman company's law. And in June last year, a group of shareholders filed a petition in the Cayman Islands, basically arguing that they should still have a right to dissent these short-form mergers, including Changyou.com, because they are no less deserving of a right to fair value just because the company controlling shareholder owns more than 90% of the vote or controls more than 90% of the vote.

Now, the ruling on that, there was a two-day hearing in the Caymans in November. The ruling came out in late January. And basically, the judge sided almost entirely with the petitioners and ruled that yes, they should have a right to dissent Changyou.com and short-form mergers in general.

So this is very significant. Now, we anticipate that this will be appealed by the company. And we expect that it's going to be a drawn-out process. But essentially, the loophole that allowed some buyer groups with large amounts of voting rights, to begin with, to get around the dissent has effectively been closed if this ruling is upheld.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: Great. We will have to leave it there, Anette. It's really interesting. Thank you very much.

ANETTE JONSSON: Thank you.

JULIE-ANNA NEEDHAM: That was Anette Jonsson speaking to me Julie-Anna Needham. Thank you for listening to this week's episode of Dealcast, presented by Mergermarket and SS&C Intralinks. Please rate, review, and subscribe to the podcast. You can find us on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or look out for your Mergermarket news alert. For more information, check out our show notes. Join us again next week for another episode.

22 March 2021